---
title: "What is the penalty for a second DUI in Rhode Island?"
description: "Under RIGL § 31-27-2(d)(2), a second-offense DUI carries a $400 fine, mandatory minimum 10 days in jail (with at least 48 consecutive hours), 1 to 2 year license suspension, mandatory ignition..."
url: https://riduilaws.com/faq-items/what-is-the-penalty-for-a-second-dui-in-rhode-island/
date: 2026-10-29
modified: 2026-10-29
author: "RI DUI Laws"
type: faq
lang: en
---

# What is the penalty for a second DUI in Rhode Island?

Under RIGL § 31-27-2(d)(2), a second-offense DUI carries a $400 fine, mandatory minimum 10 days in jail (with at least 48 consecutive hours), 1 to 2 year license suspension, mandatory ignition interlock, and mandatory substance abuse treatment.

What is the penalty for a second DUI in Rhode Island?[RI DUI Laws](https://riduilaws.com/author/admin_xxgjem88/)2026-10-29T22:35:15+00:00
