---
title: "How long do I need an ignition interlock after a Rhode Island DUI?"
description: "When the interlock is used to shorten the suspension, § 31-27-2.8(b) sets 3 months to 1 year for a first offense, 6 months to 2 years for a second offense, and 1 to 4 years for a third offense..."
url: https://riduilaws.com/faq-items/how-long-do-i-need-an-ignition-interlock-after-a-rhode-island-dui/
date: 2026-10-29
modified: 2026-10-29
author: "RI DUI Laws"
type: faq
lang: en
---

# How long do I need an ignition interlock after a Rhode Island DUI?

When the interlock is used to shorten the suspension, § 31-27-2.8(b) sets 3 months to 1 year for a first offense, 6 months to 2 years for a second offense, and 1 to 4 years for a third offense (felony).

How long do I need an ignition interlock after a Rhode Island DUI?[RI DUI Laws](https://riduilaws.com/author/admin_xxgjem88/)2026-10-29T22:26:33+00:00
